Dave King Joins State of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame as 2021 Inductee

Thursday September 02, 2021

Dynetics Group President, Dave King, was inducted into The State of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame in August at the Auburn Conference Center, alongside eight other individuals.

For more than 35 years, King has dedicated his career to space systems development and operations. After graduating from the University of South Carolina with a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering, he completed his master's degree in business administration from the Florida Institute of Technology.

From there, King launched a long and successful career with NASA. He served as the Space Shuttle launch director and director of shuttle processing at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida. He played key roles in more than 100 space shuttle missions during his tenure at NASA and led the Columbia Recovery team following the Columbia accident. He then led the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC) team through "Return to Flight" efforts following the Columbia accident and implemented the investigation board recommendations, including implementing "Technical Authority" for all programs at NASA MSFC. He also established a comprehensive management system for NASA MSFC, enabling informed business decisions and building a strong management team. 

King served as MSFC's center director for almost seven years before retiring from NASA in 2009. Today, he serves as the president of the Dynetics Group for the Leidos Corporation. The Group is the corporation's innovation engine for technology acceleration while providing broad coverage from the seafloor and into space. It is comprised of two wholly owned subsidiaries, Dynetics, Inc. and Gibbs & Cox, as well as the Leidos Innovations Center (LInC). King leads more than 5,000 employees across 20 states.

King is an American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Fellow and has been recognized for his leadership and technical achievements throughout the years. Other accolades include the National Space Club Goddard Memorial Trophy, the NASA Medal for Distinguished Service, two NASA Outstanding Leadership Medals and the Distinguished and Meritorious Presidential Rank Awards as a career senior executive. In 2019, Yellowhammer News named him to the inaugural "Yellowhammer 15" class, which recognizes Alabama leaders who are moving the state forward.

As an active member of his community, King serves on the board of directors for Leadership Alabama and The Enrichment Center. He also serves as a trustee and chairman of the Huntsville Hospital Foundation and was the chairman of the 2020 and 2021 Huntsville Classic. He is a former board member of the Huntsville/Madison County Chamber of Commerce, Westminster Christian Academy in Huntsville, the American Astronautical Society (AAS) and the Huntsville Chapter of the National Space Club and he previously served on the Alabama Workforce Council in support of both economic and job development in the state.

"It's such an honor to join this prestigious group that has done so much for engineering in the state of Alabama," said King. "I'm thankful for the opportunities I've been given to serve, mentor and thrive in this industry."

The other 2021 inductees included Beverly Banister, William Ball, Jim Cooper, Cindy Green, Robert Holmes, Herschel Matheny, Chas Richard and John Thomas. 

Dynetics inductees include Marc Bendickson, former CEO and current chairman of the board of directors; Mike DeMaioribus, retired executive vice president of business operations; Ronnie Chronister, senior vice president of weapons technology and manufacturing; and Steve Cook, deputy group president.

Founded in 1987 by proclamation of the governor, and in recognition of the sesquicentennial of formal engineering education in the state of Alabama, the Engineering Hall of Fame honors, preserves and perpetuates the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of individuals, projects, and corporations/institutions that have brought and continue to bring significant recognition to the State of Alabama. The Hall of Fame is overseen by engineering colleges and schools at Auburn University, Alabama A&M University, the University of Alabama, Tuskegee University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of Alabama in Huntsville and the University of South Alabama.

End of page Dynetics blades graphic